Item 9

REPORT TO ANNUAL COUNCIL

18th MAY 2006

REPORT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989 THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS) REGULATIONS 1990

Summary

The purpose of this report is to consider the allocation of seats on Committees to Political Groups in accordance with the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups)Regulations 1990. The regulations also require that the membership of political groups following the Local Elections held on 3rd May 2007 be reported to Members.

Recommended:

- 1. That the allocation of seats to political groups be in accordance with the attached Schedule (Appendix A)
- 2. That the membership of political groups be noted. (Appendix B)

Background

- 1. In order to comply with the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 a review of the allocation of seats on Committees to political groups should be undertaken:-
 - (a) At the Annual Meeting of the Council
 - (b) Upon receipt of a request from a political group, given that one month has expired since the previous review.
 - (c) Upon the election of a Member following a by-election.
 - (d) At any other such time as the Secretary of State may specify.
- 2. Under the political management arrangements embodied in the Constitution and in order to comply with the Regulations, political balance must be applied to the following bodies of the Council:-

Overview & Scrutiny Committees Audit Committee Development Control Committee, Licensing Committee 1 and 2

```
D: moderng ov \ Data \ Agenda I tem Docs \ 5 \ 6 \ 9 \ A 100013965 \ Local Government Political Groups Regulations 0. doc
```

Standards Committee Appeals/Review Panel Chief Officers Appointments Panel Employment Issues Panel Personnel Appeals Panel.

The Cabinet and the Area Forums are excluded from the scope of the political balance regulations.

- 3. The allocation of seats on Committees and Panels in accordance with political balance is set out in Appendix A
- Completed returns indicating Members' intentions in respect of registering political groups within the authority have been received and the position is detailed in Appendix B.

Contact Officer:- John Turnbull – Head of Democratic Services

Telephone No:- (01388) 816166 ext 4392

Email Address:- jturnbull@sedgefield.gov.uk

Ward(s) Not ward specific

Background Papers

- 1. Local Government Act 1989.
- 2. The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.
- 3. The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Amendment Regulations 1991

Examination by Statutory Officers

		Yes	Not Applicable
1.	The report has been examined by the Councils Head of the Paid Service or his representative	\checkmark	
2.	The content has been examined by the Councils S.151 Officer or his representative		\checkmark
3.	The content has been examined by the Council's Monitoring Officer or his representative		\checkmark
4.	The report has been approved by Management Team		\checkmark

 $D: moderng ov Data \ Agenda I tem Docs \ 5 \ 6 \ 9 \ AI00013965 \ Local Government Political Groups Regulations 0. doc to the second second$

ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES/PANELS

Strategic Leadership Overview & Scrutiny Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent	5 4 <u>1</u> 11
Healthy Borough with Strong Communities Overview & Scrutiny Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent Plus 2 Co-opted Members (non-voting)	5 4 2 <u>1</u> 12
Prosperous and Attractive Overview & Scrutiny Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent	5 4 2 <u>1</u> 12
Plus 2 Co-opted Members (non-voting)	
Audit Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent Co-opted Member	4 1 0 <u>1</u> 7
Development Control Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent	28 13 <u>6</u> <u>3</u> 50
Licensing Committee 1 Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent	11 5 2 <u>1</u> 19

 $D: \label{eq:condern} D: \label{eq:condern$

Licensing Committee 2	8
Labour	4
Alliance 2003	2
Liberal Democrat	<u>1</u>
Independent	15
Standards Committee Labour Alliance 2003 Liberal Democrat Independent Co-opted Members Parish	3 1 - 2 <u>1</u> 8
Appeals/Review Panel	11
Labour	5
Alliance 2003	2
Liberal Democrat	<u>1</u>
Independent	19
Chief Officers Appointments Panel	4
Labour	1
Alliance 2003	1
Liberal Democrat	<u>1</u>
Independent	7
Employment Issues	4
Labour	1
Alliance 2003	1
Liberal Democrat	<u>1</u>
Independent	7
Personnel Appeals Panel	7
Labour	3
Alliance 2003	1
Liberal Democrat	<u>1</u>
Independent	12

 $D: \label{eq:local_decomposition} D: \$

APPENDIX B

The Labour Group

Mrs. A. M. Armstrong B.F. Avery, J.P. Mrs. D. Bowman J. Burton V. Chapman D. Chaytor Mrs K. Conroy Mrs. P. Crathorne V. Crosby T.F. Forrest Mrs. B. Graham A. Gray G.C. Gray Mrs. J. Gray

Alliance 2003

Councillor W.M. Blenkinsopp Councillor T.D. Brimm Councillor D. Farry Councillor T. Hogan Councillor S. Haigh Councillor B. Haigh Councillor H. Hutchinson

Liberal Democrats

Councillor G.M.R. Howe Councillor J.G. Huntington Councillor E. Maddison

Councillor A. Warburton Councillor E.M. Paylor

Councillor. I. Hewitson

Councillor L. Cuthbertson

Councillor P. Gittins

Councillor D. Brown

J.E. Higgin

A. Hodgson

J.M. Khan

B. Lamb

A. Smith

C. Nelson

D.A. Newell

Mrs. C. Potts

B. Stephens T. Ward

W. Waters

J. Robinson J.P.

Mrs. L. Hovvels

Mrs. S. J. Iveson

Councillor B.M. Ord Councillor K. Thompson Councillor E.M. Wood

Not Affiliated to a Political Party

Councillor D.M. Hancock Councillor I. Jackson Councillor J.Wayman JP This page is intentionally left blank